Small for Leaders, Big for Employees

Hey Full Potential Zoners!

Your words have a powerful impact on your team’s feelings, actions, and results.

They can either lift them up or bring them down.

They can either encourage them or discourage them.

They can either make them loyal or make them leave.

Today we are going to talk about:

‘14 Top Phrases for Leaders.' 

These are such small things for leaders to say.

But such big things for employees to hear.

Let’s deep dive into how to do this right!

Download High-Resolution PDF at the Bottom of the Email

  1. It's okay to make mistakes

    • Fosters a culture of learning and growth rather than fear of failure.

      • Encourage sharing of mistakes as learning opportunities in meetings.

  2. I was wrong, you were right

    • Builds respect and trust in the leader’s humility and fairness.

      • Publicly acknowledge when a team member's decision or opinion is better than yours.

  3. How can I make your job easier?

    • Shows empathy and a willingness to assist in practical ways.

      • Regularly check in with team members to identify and address their pain points.

  4. Thank you

    • Conveys appreciation and recognition of effort and achievement.

      • Make a habit of thanking team members for specific contributions.

  5. I noticed you've improved in...

    • Validates the effort put into personal development.

      • Provide specific feedback about areas of improvement during reviews.

  6. I appreciate your hard work

    • Reinforces positive behavior and dedication.

      • Share examples of how their hard work has positively impacted the team or project.

  7. How do you like to receive feedback?

    • Makes feedback more effective and shows care for individual needs.

      • Adapt your feedback methods to suit the preferences of each team member.

  8. What can I do to support you better?

    • Shows a proactive approach to leadership and team development.

      • Follow through on suggestions and regularly revisit the question.

  9. Your contributions make a difference

    • Boosts morale and gives a sense of purpose.

      • Point out specific instances where their contributions led to successful outcomes.

  10. I have complete confidence in you

    • Empowers and motivates the individual to take ownership and risks.

      • Delegate significant responsibilities that play to their strengths.

  11. What do you think about...?

    • Fosters inclusion and shows that all voices are valued.

      • Actively incorporate their feedback into decision-making processes.

  12. I'm proud of you

    • Creates a personal connection and reinforces positive actions.

      • Celebrate their successes publicly to the team or organization.

  13. Your ideas are welcome here

    • Encourages innovation and diverse perspectives.

      • Establish regular brainstorming sessions where all ideas are considered.

  14. How can I improve?

    • Demonstrates a commitment to personal growth and leadership by example.

      • Act on the feedback received and share the results with the team.

Thank you

One of my team members stayed late all week to finalize a critical report for a client, resulting in successful on-time delivery but at the cost of their personal time.

I knew that people could feel overwhelmed and undervalued if their extra effort seemed to go unnoticed, which could lead to burnout or disengagement.

Recognizing their hard work, I approached them the next morning:

"Thank you for putting in the extra hours on the report. Your dedication made a huge impact on meeting our client's needs. Let's talk about how we can manage future projects to ensure work-life balance. Meanwhile, why don’t you take off early today? You've earned it."

Actionable Tips:

  • Always acknowledge extra effort promptly.

  • Offer compensatory time off or other rewards for extra hours worked.

  • Discuss strategies to manage workload proactively to prevent future burnout.

How can I support you?

A team member was struggling to keep up with their growing workload, which included a new project they were not familiar with.

They were not one to speak up or complain, but I sensed they were feeling stressed and anxious; and that they worried about asking for help, for fear they would appear incapable.

During our one-on-one, I noticed their discomfort and asked:

"I've noticed you're juggling a lot. How can I support you with your current projects?"

After listening, I arranged a training session to upskill them and reassigned some tasks to better balance their workload.

Actionable Tips:

  • Offer specific assistance or training to help them with unfamiliar tasks.

  • Encourage open communication about workload and offer to redistribute tasks if needed.

  • Provide regular check-ins to monitor their comfort level with their responsibilities.

Here's how you can make it real over the next 4 days:

Day 1: Identify and Prepare

  • Identify one person in your workplace who could directly benefit from hearing the phrase you've chosen. Write down a specific situation where this phrase would be relevant.

  • Prepare what you might say, considering how and when you will convey the message. If it's a phrase like "How can I make your job easier?" think about what you could do to follow through on any requests they might have.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "I want to use the phrase '[chosen phrase]' to improve my workplace communication. Help me create scenarios where this phrase would be most effective.”

Day 2: Execute and Reflect

  • Actively use the chosen phrase in a real-life situation with the person you identified. Pay attention to their response and the overall interaction.

  • After the conversation, reflect on how it went. Did it seem to have a positive impact? Was there anything that could have been done better? Jot down your reflections.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "I used the phrase '[chosen phrase]' in this situation at work today: [describe the situation]. Suggest some reflection questions to help me assess the impact of my communication."

Day 3: Seek Feedback

  • Ask the person you spoke with for feedback on the interaction. You might say, "I'm trying to be more supportive and constructive in my communication. How did my comment the other day sit with you?"

  • Be open to the feedback, whether it's positive or negative, and consider how you can use it to improve future interactions.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "I'd like to ask for feedback on how I've been using '[chosen phrase]' in my conversations. What's a good way to approach this conversation without making it awkward?"

Day 4: Expand Your Reach

  • Use the chosen phrase with another colleague or in a different context. Try to integrate it naturally into your everyday conversations where applicable.

  • Observe the outcomes of using this phrase throughout the day with various people. Take note of any changes in your interactions and consider making this a regular part of your communication style.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "I want to use the phrase '[chosen phrase]' more naturally in my daily interactions at work. Give me tips on how to integrate it into various types of conversations."

The phrases you've chosen are more than words.

They are bridges to connection, understanding, and empowerment.

Keep speaking, keep inspiring, keep growing!

These phrases are not just words.

They are messages that convey your respect, support, and confidence in your team.

Don’t underestimate the power of your words.

Use them wisely and watch your team thrive!

Until next week and with lots of love,

Justin

I have built and sold 4 successful companies and I have over 20 years of executive experience.

I have grown my LinkedIn audience to 134,000+ followers in 7 months.

I create all my infographics for myself and for many others.

Let me share my secrets and help you:

  • Grow on LinkedIn

  • Design infographics for you

  • Increase sales

  • Create positive cultures

  • Streamline operations

  • Wow your customers

  • Develop leadership skills

  • And much, much more

Book an “Ask Me Anything” meeting below!

Download today’s PDF below!

Were you forwarded this email? Subscribe and get my free eBook!

Want to Sponsor this newsletter or a LinkedIn post?