Culture Eats Strategy for Breakfast

Hey Full Potential Zoners!

Deloitte found that 95% feel culture is more important than money.

"Culture eats strategy for breakfast."

As Peter Drucker famously said.

Today we are going to better understand this through:

‘The 8 Pillars of a Positive Culture.' 

Let’s deep dive into how to do this!

  1. Respect

    • Engage in active listening to show each voice matters

    • Create an inclusive environment for sharing ideas

  2. Support

    • Help colleagues with tasks and provide guidance when needed

    • Invest in team members' career development

  3. Recognition

    • Regularly acknowledge both large and small team successes

    • Make recognition meaningful by personalizing it to individual contributions

  4. Unity

    • Conduct team-building activities to strengthen camaraderie

    • Establish goals that require collective effort to underscore collaboration

  5. Empowerment

    • Trust team members with meaningful autonomy in their roles

    • Motivate individuals to lead projects, fostering accountability

  6. Communication

    • Maintain openness in sharing key information with the team

    • Solicit and incorporate feedback to improve team dynamics

  7. Work-Life Harmony

    • Adapt work schedules to support personal life balance

    • Encourage use of breaks and vacation time for well-being

  8. Trust

    1. Build trust through reliable and consistent behavior

    2. Foster a safe space for honest conversations and vulnerability

Trust

One of my managers hesitated to delegate critical tasks, fearing the work wouldn't meet their high standards.

I recognized they did not trust their team.

I began by assigning a small, yet significant task to the manager, ensuring I provided clear expectations and the context for its importance.

I made myself available for guidance but resisted the urge to micromanage, demonstrating my trust in their capabilities.

The manager delivered excellent results, bolstered by the autonomy they were given.

This success led to an increase in their confidence and a willingness to delegate more of their responsibilities as they saw how I did it.

To solidify this trust, I made sure to publicly acknowledge their work, tying it back to the significant impact it had on the project's success.

This manager did likewise and became one of my most productive and trusting managers.

Here's how you can make it real over the next 4 days:

Day 1: Choose Your Pillar

  • Write down a pillar you want to work on most.

  • Describe why you chose this specific pillar and what you believe it will bring to your workplace.

  • Reflecting on its importance will help you commit to the challenge.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "Draft a reflective journal entry on why I've chosen [Pillar Name] as my focus for improving workplace culture, and what positive outcomes I expect to see from strengthening this aspect.”

Day 2: Small Actions

  • Identify a small action related to your chosen pillar that you can take today.

  • For example, if you're focusing on 'Communication', make an effort to clearly articulate your ideas in a meeting or ask a colleague for their input on a project

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "Suggest a list of small, actionable steps I can take today to demonstrate [Pillar Name] in my workplace, that are easy to implement but can have a meaningful impact."

Day 3: Feedback

  • Seek feedback on the action you took on Day 2.

  • This could involve asking a colleague how they felt about your communication in the meeting or your gesture of support or recognition.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "Guide me in creating a feedback request template that I can use to ask my colleagues for their honest opinion on the action I took yesterday to embody [Pillar Name]."

Day 4: Reflection and Planning

  • Reflect on the feedback received and plan a slightly more challenging action for the upcoming week.

  • If the feedback was positive, consider how you can build upon that action.

  • If it highlighted areas for improvement, adjust accordingly.

    • ChatGPT Prompt to Help: "Assist me in analyzing the feedback I received and help me plan a more challenging action related to [Pillar Name] for next week that builds upon what I've already accomplished."

Remember, the goal is to take small, consistent steps.

Change doesn't happen overnight.

But daily attention to these pillars can lead to a significant impact over time!

Imagine a workplace where each of these 8 pillars stands strong.

Supporting a culture of growth, understanding, and success.

It starts with you.

With one choice, one action, one moment of trust.

Until next week and with lots of love,

Justin

I have built and sold 4 successful companies and I have over 20 years of executive experience.

I have grown my LinkedIn audience to 150,000+ followers in 8 months.

I create all my infographics for myself and for many others.

Let me share my secrets and help you:

  • Grow on LinkedIn

  • Design infographics for you

  • Increase sales

  • Create positive cultures

  • Streamline operations

  • Wow your customers

  • Develop leadership skills

  • And much, much more

Book an “Ask Me Anything” meeting by Clicking Here

Download today’s PDF by Clicking Here

Were you forwarded this email? Subscribe and get my free eBook Click Here

Want to Sponsor this newsletter or a LinkedIn post? Click Here